Workshop: Escher Tessellation ‘CUTE to UGLY’ Transformation

December 23, 2013 § Leave a comment

This video was shown to us in our workshop. I found this video very amusing, this is because I’ve always had thing for mathematical graphics. Such as symmetry.

This is the YouTube tutorial link that was provided on our workshop brief for this task. I watched the whole video and then used the instructions given in the video tutorial, to create my own ‘Escher Tessellation’.

The gallery above shows the steps that I took in order to achieve my final transformation from ‘cute’ to ‘ugly’.

TRANSFORMING escher tesellations full page

This is my final ‘Escher Tessellation transformation’ from ‘cute’ to ‘ugly’. I am very pleased with this outcome, as I have spent a lot of time creating this transformation piece. Furthermore I have learnt a lot from the experience of producing this. Mostly about the rules of ‘Escher Tessellations’ and the mathematics behind it. I think this transformation is visually intriguing and mind puzzling for viewers, questioning as to how the transformation works.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Workshop: Escher Tessellation ‘CUTE to UGLY’ Transformation at MONIR KHAN.

meta